It Doesn’t Always Go As Planned… And That’s Okay.

It actually rarely goes as planned.

In fact, it is my belief that as a mother of a toddler, making plans should be filed under the definition of madness, along with cleaning while a toddler is in the house, and thinking those cute Pinterest crafts will turn out looking anything like they’re meant to.

But, hey, don’t we get credit for trying those insane things?

This week I had planned to do my weekly photo challenge, titled “Eat”, and I had all these cute ideas about these delicious and pretty little snacks I would make and photograph. I looked forward to it, actually, because I have been far too long out of practice with Still Life.

Except, my life is never still.

(I at least attempted!)

.24

Here’s the thing.

Yes, there’s always a thing.

I don’t have the time or energy on hand to make Pinterest worthy recipes, in order to photograph them.

I don’t have the time or energy on hand to do much of anything Pinterest worthy, and I’m convinced that unless you have a human sized army of ants at your every beck and call (or the ability to hire a caterer for every event your pretty little heart desires), you really don’t either.

Before the days of having a 19 month old hellcat running around, babysitting a special needs 4 year old, and being pregnant and feeling like I imagine a hippo feels, I had a lot of fun setting up props and taking elaborate shots, working on my skills, and experimenting. Now, I’m adapting, and learning that although I might have the time and energy in the future (and older models who aren’t always on the move and into something), I will need to stick to lifestyle photos when it comes to my own home.

.16

You can’t deny, they’re adorable, though!

Getting them to sit still for two seconds is the trick!

.19

The good thing about life is that it’s ever changing. It may be frustrating at times, to not be able to get that perfect shot, or to have the time to make a pretty little set up just to photograph a piece of fruit.

I may never be an amazing photographer, simply because my world doesn’t revolve around it.

And that’s okay!

My life is about more important things.

My world revolves around a precious, hell-raising toddler.

.21

My world revolves around an amazing husband, one I never in a million years could have imagined walking into my life.

IMG_1793

My world revolves around the life growing inside my tummy, ready to make her debut in a short time.

IMG_4528

Photography simply enhances the passion for the life I have that revolves around my family.

I hope to always improve, but to never let it consume my life. I have more important things consuming me.

And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

.sp95

Leave a comment